Home > Personal > New Computer =)

New Computer =)

November 28, 2008

Well… my current MacBook Pro is finally on it’s last leg. For a while now the top-left fan has been getting increasingly loud. You can bang on the corner and it will sometimes get quieter, but it’s not too long before it starts getting loud once more. I’ve had this problem before and I’ve replaced the fan… oh well.

The other problem is the RAM slots; there seems to be something wrong with one of them. Twice now one of my RAM chips has been fried. I’m not sure what is causing the problem, but it’s no good. Now that computer is back down to 1GB of RAM and that’s just not enough for what I do with my computers.

So the option was to keep spending money replacing fans and RAM chips whenever they decide to die out or upgrade. I was trying to hold out until around January or later, but with all the problems the machine is having, it was time to upgrade.

I looked into both the new MacBook and MacBook Pros and tried to objectively asses my needs. Of course, I would have just have assumed to get the MBP as it’s better, but realistically the performance difference between the MB and the MBP isn’t that large, especially for the price jump. So, I’m the proud new owner of a MacBook! I went with the 2.4 GHz model with 4 GB RAM. So far, things are going good with it.

Off to keep setting up the computer. =)

Categories: Personal
  1. Benny
    November 28, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    “Now that computer is back down to 1GB of RAM and that’s just not enough for what I do with my computers.”

    Wrath of the Lich King? 🙂

  2. November 28, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    LOL… you still need to get WoW working so you can try it out! :p

    But yes, that is one of the things. 😉 I can run at full settings now… granted, it’s only at 1280×800 at the moment until the new LED screens get in stock.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
