Home > Mac Programming, Programming > Busy Little Bee

Busy Little Bee

July 17, 2009

I know, I know… it’s been a while. At least I can say that I’ve been working on some stuff though! 🙂

As some of you know, I stopped work on the Macurial project as the more I got into it, the more I started thinking that this may be a conflict of interest as my company produces tools for source control and I even work in the developer division. Maybe I should have realized this earlier… oh well.

Never fear though, I’ve been hard at work on another project though.

My new project is named Plexer. Essentially it’s a key-broadcasting software that allows you to multi-box various games on your computer (well, OK, on your Mac), such as World of Warcraft.

Why would you want to do such a thing? Well, lots of reasons! For one, it’s fun!! 🙂 There’s even a whole community around it over at www.dual-boxing.com; it’s a pretty cool place, I’d check it out if your interested.

So now I’m basically at the stage where I need some external testers… but I also want to provide some basic level of copy protection to prevent, or rather, remind the casual user that this software should really only be installed one time.

I’m left with the following ideas as possible implementations:

  1. Simple registration key that validates to your name or some hash of your name
  2. More ‘advanced’ registration that is the same as #1 but also tracks the number of times it is installed on the server
  3. An automated ‘activation’ method that ties the install to the computer

I’m leaning toward #1 or #2 for the following reasons:

  • Easier to implement
  • If people are going to steal your software, they are going to steal it
  • Cost vs. benefit of attempting to implement a ‘decent’ software protection model
  • And the most important, annoyance factor for the user

Any one else have any thoughts on the matter?

Oh… and here’s a quick look at an older prototype of the UI: http://quicksnapper.com/owensd/image/plexer-ui/.

