Home > Programming > .NET Framework 4 Beta 2 Install Errors?

.NET Framework 4 Beta 2 Install Errors?

October 19, 2009

If you’re like me and you run both Windows and OS X, you might find yourself in a odd predicament if you try to install Visual Studio 2010 Beta 2 – it may not install!!!

It turns out there is a fairly ridiculous bug in the .NET Framework 4 Beta 2 setup. The basics is that it tries to find a drive to extract out the setup file (why the current drive isn’t good enough is beyond me) and extract out the files there… well, on my setup with Bootcamp that gives me a 160GB partition with OS X and an 80GB partition for Windows. Well, the setup finds the E drive (I have Snow Leopard so I can read HFS drives in Windows) which is my OS X drive and the drive with the most free disk space. Next it tries to extract itself out to it but fails as the HFS partition is read-only.

The workaround is fairly easy to do and the bug should be fixed by the time RTM comes. To fix it, simply remove the drive letter mapping from your OS X drive in Windows, install the .NET Framework 4 Beta 2, and then add the drive letter back to your OS X partition.

After that, all should be happy. 🙂

Categories: Programming
