Home > Personal > I’m Back!

I’m Back!

September 6, 2010

I’ve typically used my blog either as a sounding board for things I’d like to see changed in a product I used to work on (nothing says fix-it like a post showing how to do something someone says cannot be done) or just random postings.

Well… I’d like that to change. I’ve got a lot of cruft up in this old brain of mine and it’s time to post some of that in hopes that others may find it useful, or maybe just amusing at the very least.

I’ve got a new job, still at the same company, just with a different group. So far it’s been great, APP BUILDING APP BUILDING APP BUILDING! 🙂 Of course, the fun will end shortly as we get back to some serious work. One of the best things about this job is that I’ve gotten back into, or shall I say more accurately, actually getting into JavaScript.

I’ve forgotten how fun dynamic languages are. Having spent most of my time in C# or C++ in the past few years, it’s freeing to be able to spend a significant amount of time in a language where I don’t have to come up with a class, where if I need a function to do something I can just create it inline and pass it around like a normal variable, or where parsing a string doesn’t take 10 lines of code… yeah, I’m looking at C++!

Anyway, the point is that I’ll be blocking off some time every week to two to write up a blog about something helpful that I learned, most likely pertaining to some problem I’ve faced, in hopes that some other poor sap won’t have to go through the same ordeal I have but can use my solution and move on to solving his/her real problem at hand.

See you soon!

Categories: Personal
  1. Nelson
    September 7, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    What language are you working in?

    C#, as of 4, is quite excellent in regards to it’s support of functional and dynamic paradigms… I can’t think of anything more you would want :p

    But between implicit typing, generic inference, extension methods, first class functions, lambdas and expressions – I vastly prefer C# to any other dynamic or functional language that I’ve worked with (Ruby and JavaScript being the two main functional/dynamic languages I’ve worked extensively with, and I’ve toyed with F# and Haskell).

    To be honest, I prefer Java to .net <= 2. It's only with .net 3.5 that I've really grown to love C#.

    But I get what you mean though. Not having to re-implement IEnumerable.Distinct, and instead using a first-party library to abstract away all the annoying implementation details involved in an elegant wrapper, really helps you focus on what we get paid to do: build software 😉

  2. September 7, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    JavaScript. C# is great and really the only managed language I’d use in Windows unless I NEED to use C++ for something. And yeah, C# can now do a lot of those things that JavaScript can.

    function onImageLoad(img) {
      // did you know that img doesn't have a loaded property?
      img.loaded = true;
      // oh, now it does!
    };
    

    In C# I’d have a list of already loaded images or create a wrapper class that held onto the image or something to that effect. JavaScript, I’ll just add the property.

    Powerful and dangerous. Fun. 🙂

    There are some things I like about compiled code – i.e. earlier syntax error warnings, but that’s more of a tooling issue than a language one.

  3. nelson
    September 7, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    JS… Can be a pain :p powerful, flexible, cool? Certainly though…

    You play at all with CoffeeScript? I recently wrote a nice little builder/cacher/minified for my asp.net mvc projects and have been using it over all of my existing JS work. Sadly, you’re pretty much stuck with having to use V8 to run it at build-time (no IronJavaScript for us :(), but that wasn’t a problem for our projects. Check it out:

    http://jashkenas.github.com/coffee-script/

  4. September 7, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Nope, haven’t played with it. I think the only thing that looked interesting was the shorter function syntax and the … handling for parameters. Not a fan of the whole conditions at the end of the expression thing. Makes the code harder to understand.

  5. nelson
    September 9, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I agree with that. But what I like about coffeescript (damn… can’t say CS; otherwise it’d be confused with C# :p) is the cleaner syntax. Clean syntax goes a long way to make JS more usable. Also, the OO model as well as the ability to bind an anonymous function to the context of another function by simply writing “=>” is pretty nice. Either way, it compiles down to JS, and you can use existing JS code on top of it as well as using JS inline with it… There’s almost nothing to loose – other then a dependency on V8 (that is, until MS ships a competent JS engine as part of windows).

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
